Two figs

Image

I am digging through my books this morning. I often find the sweetest things.

I found these and loved them.

First Fig
My candle burns at both ends;
It will not last the night;
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends–
It gives a lovely light!

Second Fig

Safe upon the solid rock the ugly houses stand:
Come and see my shining palace built upon the sand!

For some time I have been wanting certain friends to ‘play hooky’ with me and spend a day sipping fine spirits and reading poetry. I put play hooky in quotes because with our lives and obligations we will have to plan hooky ahead.

A while back we were listening to M read one of her father’s poems and I mentioned this again. Then H reminded me of Bloomsday. I wrote papers on Joyce in school and I am ashamed to say that I could not name Leopold Bloom and had forgotten about Bloomsday. What kind of literature lover, Kate Bush fan and librarian am I, anyway?

Never mind. Now we know. June 16 2014, 110 years later- Hooky, poetry and fine spirits on Bloomsday it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems and Poets, quotable, Women writers

Leave a Reply

