Ah, 2020, I barely knew ye

I, WCB, am tired. The condition of tiredness, or compassion fatigue or fear fatigue or preventive behavior fatigue, is probably a public health emergency at this point.

Wine Country Books spent most of 2020 and 2021 up to this point with my online inventory in ‘vacation mode’ with all vendors. I am finally dotting i’s and crossing t’s to close it up.

Should anyone want to purchase the entire collection as is, please email winecountrybooksnapa at gmail. Otherwise it is quietly making its way into Friends of the Library donation bins, Thrift stores that serve those in need, and my personal collection.

If I had been able to keep up, well, 2020 – 2021 were and appear to still be very “read-y” years.

Quarantine / Work from home / Shelter in place / School at home drove many of us into activities we would never have bothered with in in a normal year. Long overdue protests for Black Lives Matter. Baking Bread. Sticking to an exercise program. Reading books.

My intent even beofre COVID19 madness had been to lovingly curate and prune my inventory down to the most valuable. You can almost see the tree’s relief as it takes a deep breath and stands a little straighter after a good prune- kind of like I used to feel after I got a $300 color and cut. And well pruned fruit trees come back with more fruit than ever.

A year requiring distance from other human beings would be the perfect time to curate and prune.

But I crossed America by car, West coast to Southern Appalachia, 7 (seven) times one way in one year, plus associated down time travel always seems to spill onto daily life. 5 of those were to tend to my own business, to include being near my golden years parents. Two were to be with and assist a friend who was helping her golden years parent. Now with vaccination and relaxed COVID19 mandates and restrictions, I can take an 8-10 hour travel day by flying. And I could start back up… but I am in a mad dash just to stay in place.

Farewell for now. As Garrison Keillor would say, Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.

I leave this blog and its sister blogs up for a time in case I need to show proof that I can write. As I offer certain opportunities back to the generous Universe, perhaps other opportunities will appear. I could enjoy writing for a living.

Leave a comment

Filed under African, American, Antiquarian, Appalachiana, Biography, book collecting, Civil War, Cold War, contemporary fiction, crime, detective, electronic surveillance, ephemera, first editions, halloween, History, illustrated, Judaica, Latin American, memoir, military, New Age, Poems and Poets, quotable, Science Fiction, Shakespeare, Shop, Signed, social currents, Southern, Summer Reading, the book business, the public library, wine country books

Leave a comment